in , , , , ,

deGrom Repeats As NL Cy Young & Verlander Edges Cole In AL

Verlander DeGrom Cy Young Winners

The Astros’ Justin Verlander and the Mets’ Jacob deGrom are the 2019 winners of the American League and National League Cy Young Awards, as announced on Wednesday night on MLB Network by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. And these two-time winners of baseball’s biggest pitching prize took two very different paths to this point.

For Verlander, who won the 2011 AL Cy Young with the Tigers, this award is well-deserved relief after three second-place finishes in 2012, 2016 and 2018. This time, he had to edge out his own equally deserving teammate, Gerrit Cole, to win one of the more interesting Cy races in recent memory.

For deGrom, this is another victory sans victories. While Verlander won 21 games in 2019 alone, that was deGrom’s combined total for 2018 and ’19. But deGrom’s unmistakable excellence in the areas of the stat line over which he had more control earned him the honor of becoming just the 11th pitcher to win this award in back-to-back years.

Written by Sami Jarjour

The Co-Founder of Sports ON Tap & Host of "Stuff That Matters w/ Sami Jarjour" Podcast & Co-Host of "That Being Said Podcast w/ George & Sami Jarjour."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.